Tours to New Delhi

Home  »  Tourist Destinations in New Delhi  »  Parliament House

Parliament House New Delhi

If you want to watch the place where all kinds of bills are passed in India, then go around the Parliament House in New Delhi. Initially known as the Circular House, Parliament House was designed by Herbert Baker. Inaugurated in 1927, the Parliament House is the famous landmark not only of New Delhi but Indian political system. Ideally located towards the north of Rajpath, the Parliament House or Sansad Bhawan as it's popularly called as is the place where the Indian Parliament meets and works on the world's largest democracy.

Built in a circular shape, the Parliament House comprises of three semicircular chambers that are meant for the Legislatures and a Central Library having a 27.4m high dome. Covering 2.02 hectares of area, the dome is 173 wide in diameter and is enclosed by a verandah and 144 columns. Formerly the three semi circular chambers were designed for the Chamber of Princes, the Legislative Assembly and the Council of State. Presently, these three chambers houses the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the Library.

At present there are about 550 seats in the Lok Sabha of the Parliament House, out of which there are 530 members are elected representatives of the Indian States and 20 members that are elected represent the Union Territories. On the other hand the Rajya Sabha has 250 members, out of which 238 members represent states and Union Territories and 12 members are nominated on the basis of excellence in art, science and literature fields.

Though the entry is free, visiting the Parliament House requires a prior official permission. Another factor that needs to be kept in mind is that whether the Parliament is in session or not. You can enter the library after obtaining an entry pass. Foreign tourists need to apply to their embassy for a visit at the Indian Parliament House. After obtaining the permission, the visitors can enter the public galleries of the Indian Parliament House.

General Information:

Address: Lok Sabha Marg, New Delhi-01
Nearest Metro Station: Central Secretariat
Area of Delhi: Central Delhi
Distance from Airport: 19 Kms

Hotels by Star Category
5 Star Deluxe Hotels, Delhi
5 Star Hotels in Delhi
4 Star Hotels in Delhi
3 Star Hotels in Delhi
2 Star Hotels in Delhi
Budget Hotels in Delhi
Boutique Hotels in Delhi
Hotels by Location
Central Delhi
Connaught Place
India Gate
Karol Bagh
Chandni Chowk
Red Fort
Jama Masjid
New Delhi Railway Station
Old Delhi Railway Station
Jantar mantar
North Delhi
South Delhi
Dhaula Kuan
Bhikaji Cama Place
Humayun Tomb
Lotus Temple
Green Park
Greater Kailash
Nehru Place
Nizamuddin Railway Station
Delhi Airport
Qutub Minar
Lajpat Nagar
Vasant Vihar
Vasant Kunj
Sarai Kale Khan Bus Terminal
New Friends Colony
Lodhi Garden
West Delhi
Tilak Nagar
Patel Nagar
Rajouri Garden
East Delhi
Laxmi Nagar
Anand Vihar
Metro Stations
Pragati Maidan
About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer